Important Grammar & Punctuation Rules to Improve Your Story

A place for help and advice on your writing, and finding beta readers and editors.

Important Grammar & Punctuation Rules to Improve Your Story

Postby Doctor Keith » Tue May 29, 2018 3:46 pm

I'm a published author, with about a dozen books published under my name or pen names. I'm a big fan of this site and the talented writers who contribute to it. Over many months, I've read almost every story here, except the TG stories which aren't my thing. That said, I can totally appreciate the audience for them. When I joined this site, one kind, long-term member said she/he was looking forward to how I might contribute as a "professional" author. I think I have some advice to share. This is contributed with all the affection I have for Changing Mirror authors, which is considerable. Agree with me or not, I'm only offering this as a reader, and as an author who wants to convey his story to readers without strange text, structure or punctuation getting in the way. I hope this helps some of you:

1. Use capitals at the beginning of sentences. When the narrator refers to herself/himself, “I” must be capitalized. Capitalize proper names, etc. If you don’t, you risk the reader not understanding what you’re trying to say. This isn’t “cute.” The reader sees it as confusing the message you’re trying to convey.

2. Always use (“) or (‘) for quotations. (“) is most common, and always used in the US. (‘) is sometimes used in the UK. We all forgive (‘) for quotations since English is their language, after all. But think about how many published novels you’ve seen with (’) to delineate quotes, versus, (“). Yeah, use (“). BTW, neither (") nor (') end a sentence. SENTENCES MUST END WITH A (.), (?), OR (!). If the sentence is a quote, it must end with (."), (?"), OR (!").