Interactive Story Development Thread

Want to talk about the site itself -- problems, technical issues, ideas, etc.? Here's the place to do it!

Interactive Story Development Thread

Postby TheoW » Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:47 pm

As I said on a different thread, I've decided to see about adding a Choose your own Adventure/Change style story section to the site. It seems like a few people are interested and it could be fun to do.

To this end I've taken it upon myself to write this part of the site from scratch. I've never worked with PHP or SQL before, so it's been a bit of an adventure. That being said I've gotten pretty far, to the point that it's nearly ready for some basic usage.

Right now everything is on my local box, but sooner or later (probably by the end of the week) I'll have it up and open for people to start working with... and breaking, I'm sure there will be a lot of breaking. :)

There will also be a lot of things missing. No user accounts just yet (but things are being set up for them in the future), no notifications, no editing, no text encoding, no linking. It's pretty basic text... but it should work when I have it up and running.

Oh, one nice perk from all of this. Once I get all the extra features done it will also provide some groundwork for a story archive to go along with the forum. :)
Pretends to be the boss around here.
TheoW
Boss Lion

Re: Interactive Story Development Thread

Postby Maximus » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:01 pm

Great news! Can't wait to test this out!
Maximus

Postby TheoW » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:41 pm

I'm looking forward to it as well... the only downside is that I have no natural design ability, so it's all going to look very bland.
TheoW
Boss Lion

Postby TheoW » Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:37 pm

Guess what? It's ALIVE!!!

http://thechangingmirror.com/intstory/

I just put in something quick so there was content, but it looks like it should work for now!

Two quick things.